Editing and How God Provides

I went back and read a few of my first six posts.  They need some serious editing.

Paragraphs are too long and thoughts run together.  I use ‘and’ and ‘so’ too much.  The origin of idealistic statements may not be understood.   I need to include a bit more detail to get the message across clearly.

This blog is supposed to be about ADD and bipolar issues, and how God helps with these things.  I have wondered if blog posts that deal primarily with the things of God fit here.  But since all aspects of my life are affected by the ADD and bipolar, I feel justified in writing about spiritual issues.

God’s grace is how I deal day-to-day with the ADD and mood swings.  So to give God thanks for making the consequences of my disabilities less serious than they could be without God is one of my goals.  To provide good information is secondary.

Good information in this blog does need to be present for my readers however.  If I give helpful and interesting information, readers follow.  Plus, I learn more from the research and writing process than I could without it.  The subject teaches the teacher.

God edits my life.  He cuts out the extra, needless words and actions.  He rearranges thoughts, moves ideas about, and adds in stuff to make the whole come clear.

Nothing could be more illustrative of this process than God’s provision for my family in the last week.

Last Friday morning got a bleak start.  We were all home and it was raining.  We were wondering how we would get enough food to eat until payday next week.  I was alternately crying and looking up food banks on the Internet.  I forgot all that stuff I wrote about faith.  I left out the ‘remember’ part of what God had said.

God didn’t forget.  One of our cars was very old and just that week have given up on life.  It couldn’t get us one block anymore, much less 50 miles to work, without a major investment.  In addition to crying about the lack of grocery money, we were all wondering how we would all get to where we needed to go in the weeks ahead.

It’s funny how good solutions don’t occur to me unless something or someone behind the thing prompts them.  Because of the ADD I tend to overlook the obvious.  I miss details.  Which is why the dad in this little family was the one that blurted out the obvious.

Sell the car.

I called ‘Cash for Cars’ and told them about our junker-clunker.  I thought it might have some value for parts if nothing else.  But their response was more than I hoped for.

They offered me $400 for it and came out that same afternoon to tow it away!  We took the cash, went to the grocery store, and had dinner with the results.  We also had breakfast the next day, lunch the next noon, and will be able to continue in that routine for the foreseeable future.  We also paid the phone bill and put gas in the other car.

We will have to share a car for a while, but for some reason that seems so much easier now than it did before this little crisis.  We are managing.

God provides.

2 responses to “Editing and How God Provides

  1. I love your blog! I hope you can get some of your writings published!
    Despite having ADD, I was a decent student. However, I just lost the eighth job I had in the six years since I graduated college. I just started my blog and hope to get a book published (some day).
    Thankfully, I have a strong faith in God and supportive parents to help me through. I admire you and your faith.
    God Bless!

Leave a Reply

