Win with ADD and Freelance Writers Den

Think All, Focus One

Think All, Focus One (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am a writer with ADD, attention deficit disorder.  Thus the name of my blog, addrangerramblings.  That’s A. D. D. Ranger Ramblings.  I’m not trying to add to my family of rangers by rambling.

If you know anything about ADD, then you know that most of us are exceptionally creative people who have a problem focusing our creativity on one task or project for any productive length of time.

Also, if you know about ADD, then you know that sometimes hyper-focus can be a problem.  We get so focused on what we are enjoying doing that we can’t stop and switch to another task without major irritability.  At least I get irritable.  My son says that when I’m reading, the house would have to be burning down around me before I took notice.

The point is, winning one year of membership in the Freelance Writers Den is worth the struggle to focus, then hyper-focus, on this blog post.  It must be sparkling!  It must be witty!  It must be the anti-sob story of the century!  It must inspire such hope of mentoring success that it WINS!

Really, all nauseous frenzy aside, I want to earn this membership for several reasons.

First, having ADD, I need structure to succeed.  I’ve been somewhat successful providing this structure for myself, but learning opportunities like the Writer’s Den Membership resources provide are a major source of motivation for my chaotic focus-challenged brain.

Second, my goals demand immediate productivity.  I want to be a successful blogger and author who makes a living by helping others find solutions to their mental health challenges.

Bipolar, ADHD, ADD, anxiety, and depression are all things I’ve dealt with over the years.  I know how hard it is to overcome these problems, and I want to show those so afflicted that it can be done.  And done with style!

So whether you are one of my multitudinous readers or from the Den, check out my blog.  It needs serious help.  It needs your comments or your teachings.  It needs you to tell me what you need to make this site something you can rely on to help in time of need.

9 responses to “Win with ADD and Freelance Writers Den

  1. As a writer/graphic artist with ADD, I’m glad I came across this blog via the Freelance Writers Den. We have to struggle with all the things the productivity gurus say, so inspiration and support always helps. Best of luck!

  2. I should start this comment like this: “Hi, I’m Diane, and I have Adult ADHD…I take off my closet doors so I can see my clothes, but I can be so focused on something that I will scream like a little girl if you come up and say ‘hi’ to me while I’m working in my cubicle. I read three emails and checked two jobs on LinkedIn while reading this. . . and have no idea why I felt the need to do that as I was busy reading this. I really could use help, but have no idea where and how I need it. Glad I found you through the freelance writing den – I’m a new member – and congratulations on your 2nd place win in their contest! Oh, look — there’s a bunny . . . .

    • That’s so funny! While I was trying to figure out how to reply to you because I’m so new at this blogging thing, I read two posts, pulled down the window shades, went to the bathroom, plugged in my Nook e-reader, and sent an email to my significant other. Which is why I don’t yet know fully how to do this blogging thing. As I find the help to conquer these distractions, I’ll let you know. We really need to help each other. Thanks, Diane.

  3. Sounds as if we have pretty much the same specialty, for almost the same reasons. (I don’t know if I have an actual mental illness, but I definitely have that trouble concentrating, the tendency to get interested in too much of everything, and the inability to accomplish anything without accountability.)

    Be sure and share your tips for finding the high-paying jobs in this topic area!

  4. Pingback: What Makes a Freelance Writer a Winner? The Den Contest Results

Leave a Reply

